What if: NHL Lockout Edition

JONATHAN SEXAUER 716 PRESS

Let me preface this by saying this: I hope that there is no NHL lockout, because I would hate the idea of losing yet another NHL season, especially so soon after the last one happened, which resulted in the 2004-2005 season being canceled, as we all know.

Now, back to the point of the post, what could we hockey deprived fans could do if in fact, there is a lockout. Yes, for those of you who do not have an existence outside of hockey, I do pity you, but I understand where you come from, and there remains other hockey for you to watch.

For example, and as much as it hurts me, not to mention makes me feel dirty, as a UB student to promote anything about Canisius College, you could always go to Buffalo State Sports Arena, and watch the Canisius College Golden Griffs Mens NCAA Hockey Division I hockey team. A schedule can be found here.

Not to mention, there is always club hockey, of which my University at Buffalo is a part of(schedule is linked), and admission is free to UB students, and is cheap to non students to attend. Their games are played at the Northtown Center in Amherst, right next to the UB North Campus

In addition, there are the Buffalo Jr. Sabres, which are an Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL) team, which also plays at the Northtown Center. I will admit, I have no clue about them, or the OJHL, but, there is the link for their site, if you wish to satisfy your hockey craving that way, have at it, and enjoy.

(For the record, there are also AHL and OHL games, but none of that exists in Buffalo, sooo)

Now, as we all, well, some of us, including me, know that, as much as some of us love hockey, there exists, shocking I know, a world that does not revolve around hockey, or hell, around sports in general.

Now, for those of us who rely, or at least prefer, taking the subway trains to the First Niagara Center, we pass through Theatre District, and go through a cornucopia of theatres, highlighted by Shea’s Threatre, the Irish Classical Theatre, and many, many more. In addition, for us foodies out there, the Bijou Grille is right across Main St. from Shea’s. While I have not (yet) had the pleasure of going, I have heard many, many google things about Bijou’s, and plan on attending as soon as I can, and will review it for all of you.

In addition, celebrating their 150th year, is the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, easily my favourite location in the entire city(sorry FNC and Shea’s).

I shall expand on the latter places listed in successive posts, and I have made my point that, even if there is a lockout, God forbid, that the world is not ending, and life eixsts without hockey.

One thought on “What if: NHL Lockout Edition

  1. Pingback: NHL Lockout Series: Albright Knox Art Gallery « 716 Press

Leave a Reply

