Sabres Development Camp

I took this photo at the development camp in 2009. The prospects shall not be seeing Niagara University this year.

The Buffalo Sabres announced that their yearly development camp will be held between July 9th and July 12th at the First Niagara Center. Their first three practices will be held on the mornings of the 9th, 10th, and 11th between 10 AM and 12:30 PM. On the 12th, they will hold a scrimmage that is open to the public for a little compensation of $10! How nice of them.

The camp being next week is convenient for Jon and myself since he’s making the trip back to Buffalo for the MILB All Star Game that the Bisons are hosting this year. Now we have more things to fill up our time with, such as writing our opinions on newcomers like Mikhail Grigorenko and Joel Armia. It’ll be fun to see the progression of the overload of centers we’re going to see at this camp. How can I hold all these centers?!

Along with the aforementioned Grigorenko and Armia, other prospects include Zemgus Girgensons, Cody Hodgson, Brayden McNabb, Luke Adam, and Marcus Foligno. I’m assuming the final four will be a part of a veteran core at the development camp and it’ll be interesting to see what they are teaching the young rookies at this time. The first three morning practices are open to the public for free so I expect full crowds considering the kids are now out of school and want to see their future Sabres in action.

It doesn’t matter to me since I will be working anyways, but $10 for the full scrimmage is a little redonk. I know there will be people who pay for it immediately but I wouldn’t want to dish out money when a full scrimmage for the big club doesn’t cost me a dime. I shouldn’t complain too much since the location of the camp was moved from Niagara University to First Niagara Center, therefore making it easier for me to attend these practices. I shall take what I can get. Expect to see a few recap posts after each practice from either Jon or myself to get some inside scoop on how the rookies are holding out.

Leave a Reply

